top of page

Valentines for Days

All holidays in our house tend to be a bit crazy because we go SO overboard. Every year and every holiday I promise myself that I will scale it back a bit so that I can enjoy the holiday itself as well as the lead up. Valentine's Day this year was no exception, and of course, I did anything but scale down.

Nathan's classroom Valentines are a prime example. A week before Valentine's Day, I asked him what kind of Valentines he wanted and he told me homemade space Valentines. I found a likely candidate on Pinterest and got the supplies.

There are 30 kids in Nathan's class, and the project I found has 7 steps per card. I probably should have done the math at that point. 7 steps, assuming even only 1 minute per step, would take 210 minutes to make (!). Nathan's attention span is great for his age, but I should have realized that nearly 4 hours of cutting, pasting and writing wasn't going to be fun for anyone. Two hours in, we had a bunch of these:

Anyway, about halfway through, Nathan had a great idea for making Hershey's Kisses "in space". We decided to alleviate the monotony by swapping half of our original project out for those, and we managed to get the whole thing finished.

The very next day, we got an email from Nathan's teacher saying that no candy would be allowed. For those playing along at home, that meant we had to make 15 more of our original design. Cut, paint, write, write again... Well, you get the idea.

I'm pretty sure that my hair went gray and my back is now hunched over from working on this project. Best of all, Nathan came home from school on Valentine's Day with a bag of candy. It seems the kids could TAKE candy..they just couldn't eat it. Oh well. I guess that my cutting and pasting skills needed some work anyway. And needless to say, Nathan thought that the whole thing was SERIOUSLY fun, which was the best of all.

bottom of page